Scottish Music Festivals

This is a small select list of some of the festivals and events taking place in Scotland. Please note that information on this list is correct at the time of collating the list but Taigh na Teud does not accept responsibility for any events which are cancelled or changed. Please check details with the contacts given with each event listing.

If you would like your event to be added to the list please contact us at christine@scotlandsmusic.com

January

Celtic Connections http://www.celticconnections.com

February

Inverness Music Festival http://www.invernessmusicfestival.org

March

Niel Gow Annual Fiddle Festival http://www.niel-gow.co.uk

Hebridean Tunes http://www.hebridean-tunes.com

Kirriemuir Festival of Music and Song http://www.kirriefestival.org/

Milnathort Music Festival http://www.milnathort.info / http://www.myspace.com/milnathortfolkfestival

National Accordion & Fiddle Club Festival http://www.boxandfiddle.com/festival.htm

Shennaghys jui Shennaghysjiu.com

Stirling Traditional Dance Festival http://www.dunedindancers.org.uk/public/festival.php

St Patrick's Festival, http://www.glasgowstpatricksfestival.co.uk/

Hawick Reivers Festival, www.hawickreivers.co.uk


April

Edinburgh International Harp Festival http://www.harpfestival.co.uk

Edinburgh’s Ceilidh Culture http://www.ceilidhculture.co.uk

Edinburgh’s Youth Gaitherin http://www.eyg.org.uk

GlenFarg Folk Festival http://www.glenfargfolkclub.com

Knoydart Music Festival http://www.moidart.com/ardnamurchan-events/knoydart-music-festival

Northern Streams, Edinburgh http://www.northernstreams.org

Skye World Music Festival http://www.seall.co.uk

TRADFEST Edinburgh http://www.ceilidhculture.co.uk/

May

Ayrshire Burns an a’ that! http://www.burnsfestival.com

The Border Gaitherin http://www.bordergaitherin.com

Buchan Heritage Festival http://www.buchanheritagesociety.co.uk

Doune & Dunblane Fling http://www.dunblanefling.com

FifeSing http://www.springthyme.co.uk/fifesing/

Girvan Traditional Folk Festival girvanfolkfestival.co.uk

Highlands and Islands Music and Dance Festival http://www.obanfestival.org

Islay Malt & Music Festival http://www.theislayfestival.co.uk/index.php

Knockengorroch World Festival http://www.knockengorroch.org.uk/

Mo Fes http://www.montrosemusicfestival.co.uk/

Orkney Folk Festival http://www.orkneyfolkfestival.com/

Skye Accordion & Fiddle Festival http://www.skyemusic.co.uk

Shetland Folk Festival http://www.shetlandfolkfestival.com

Moniave Folk Festival, http://www.moniaivefolkfestival.co.uk/

Isle of Skye Accordion and Fiddle Festival, http://www.skyemusic.co.uk/festival.asp

Portsoy Traditional Music Festival, http://www.stbfportsoy.com/



June

Arran Folk Festival http://www.arranevents.com

Glasgow West End Festival http://www.westendfestival.co.uk

International Storytelling Festival http://www.scottishstorytellingcentre.co.uk

Keith Festival http://www.keithfestival.btinternet.co.uk

Loanhead Music Festival http://www.loanheadfest.co.uk

Solas Festival http://www.solasfestival.co.uk

Strathyre Music Festival http://www.balvaig.co.uk

East Neuk Festival, Fife, http://www.eastneukfestival.com/

July

Barra - Feis Bharraigh http://www.feisbharraigh.com

Dunedin International Folk Dance Festival http://www.dunedindancers.org.uk

Guildtown Bluegrass Music Festival http://www.scottishbluegrass.com

Lomond Folk Festival http://www.lomondfolkfestival.com

The North Atlantic Fiddle Convention, Aberdeen http://www.abdn.ac.uk/elphinstone

Ross-shire Fèis Rois Cèilidh Trail http://www.feisrois.org

Skye Festival Feis an Eilein http://www.feisaneilein.com

South Uist - Ceòlas Summer Music School http://www.ceolas.co.uk

Southern Fried http://www.southernfriedfestival.co.uk

SpeyFest, Fochabers, Moray, http://www.speyfest.com

Stonehaven Folk Festival http://www.stonehavenfolkfestival.co.uk

Stornoway Hebridean Celtic Festival http://www.hebceltfest.com

Yn Chruinnaght Interceltic Festival http://www.ynchruinnaght.com/

Newcastleton Traditional Music Festival, Near Hawick, http://www.newcastleton.com/

Scottish Traditional Boat Festival, Portsoy, http://www.stbfportsoy.com/

Hebridean Celtic Festival, Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, https://www.hebceltfest.com/

Wickerman Festival, Dundrennan, http://www.thewickermanfestival.co.uk/


August

Auchtermuchty Festival http://www.auchtermuchty-festival.org.uk

Belladrum Tartan Heart Music Festival, Beauly, http://www.tartanheartfestival.co.uk

Edinburgh Festival Fringe http://www.edfringe.com

Glasgow- Piping Live! Festival http://www.pipingfestival.co.uk

Innerleithen Music Festival http://www.innerleithenmusicfestival.org

The Isle of Skye Highland Games http://www.skye-highland-games.co.uk

Mull of Kintyre Music Festival http://www.mokfest.com

Shetland Fiddle Frenzy http://www.shetlandfiddlefrenzy.com

Marymass Folk Festival, Kilwinning, http://www.irvinefolkclub.trad.org.uk/

September

Blas Festival http://www.blas-festival.com

Ceòl Cholasa, Colonsay http://www.ceolcholasa.co.uk

Douglasdale Folk Festival http://www.douglasdalefolkfestival.com

The Doric Festival, Aberdeen http://www.thedoricfestival.co.uk

Dunbar Traditional Music Festival http://www.dunbarmusicfestival.co.uk/

Gigha Music Festival http://www.gigha.org.uk

Isle of Jura Music Festival http://www.juramusicfestival.com

Kirrimuir Festival http://www.kirriefestival.org/

Linlithgow Folk Festival http://www.linlithgowfolk.com

Portpatrick Folk Festival http://www.stranraer.org/portfest

Tarbert (Argyll) Music Festival http://www.tarbertmusicfestival.com

Loopallu Festival, Ullapool, http://www.loopallu.co.uk/about.aspx

October

Beauly - Blazin’ in Beauly http://www.blazininbeauly.com

Biggar Little Festival http://www.biggar-little-festival.com

Darvel Music Festival, Ayrshire http://www.darvelmusicfestival.org

Perthshire Amber – The Dougie Maclean Festival http://www.perthshireamber.com

Royal National Mod http://www.the-mod.co.uk

Selkirk Sessions http://www.selkirksessions.com

Ullapool Guitar Festival http://www.ullapoolguitarfestival.com

Sound Festival 2014 http://www.visitscotland.com/info/events/homecoming-scotland-2014-sound-festival-2014-p750171

Scottish International Storytelling Festival, Edinburgh, http://www.tracscotland.org/festivals

November

Ayr Common Ground Festival http://www.commongroundfestival.org.au/

Denholm Folk Festival http://www.denholmfolkfest.co.uk

Fiddle Festival http://www.scotsfiddlefestival.com

Skye Jazz Festival http://www.seall.co.uk

Strathspè Away http://www.dannsa.com

Brechin Music Festival, Brechin, Angus,

Carrying Stream Festival, Edinburgh, http://www.carryingstreamfestival.co.uk/

Northern Roots Music Festival, Bogbain, Inverness,  http://www.bogbainfarm.com/festivals/