• image
  • audio

The King has Landed (album)

Songs of the Jacobite Risings. This CD of great collection of Jacobite songs is sung by some of the best bands and soloists in Scotland today. The songs include a variety of viewpoints on the events of 1715 and1745 and are still very popular songs in Scotland due to their historical significance and their excellent tunes and words.

The 2002 Edinburgh International Festival included Songs of the Jacobite Rebellions in their Scottish traditional music programme - this compilation was released to mark that event. The album consists of popular Jacobite songs, plus some recent compositions, performed by artists including The Corries, Alastair McDonald, Heather Heywood, Ewan MacColl, The McCalmans, Ceolbeg, The Whistlebinkies, Ian Bruce, Jim Malcolm and Brian McNeill.


Accordion, Bodhran, Fiddle, Mandolin, Scots song, Whistle
Ewan MacColl, Alastair McDonald, Rod Paterson, The Corries, The McCalmans, The Whistlebinkies
Tune Types:
Air, Dance tunes, Jig, March, Reel, Strathspey, Waltz
Ceilidh, Hogmanay
ca. 55 mins, 0 secs

Table of contents

  • The King Has Landed in Moidart/Drambuie Kirkliston Pipe Band
  • Ye Jacobites By Name/Ian Bruce
  • The Haughs o' Cromdale/Ewan MacColl
  • Killiecrankie/The Corries
  • The Massace of Glencoe/Alastair McDonald
  • Parcel of Rogues In A Nation/Rod Paterson
  • Cam' Ye Ower Frae France/The Whistlebinkies
  • The Sherramuir Fight/The Corries
  • The McCalmans/Rise, Rise
  • The White Cockade/Sangsters
  • Johnnie Cope/Ceolbeg
  • Wha'll Be King But Chairlie?/The McCalmans
  • My Bonnie Moorhen/Heather Heywood
  • The Summer of '46/Robin Laing
  • Awa, Whigs, Awa!/James Malcolm
  • This Is No My Plaid/Aileen Carr
  • Strong Women Rule Us With Their Tears/Brian McNeill
  • Will Ye No' Come Back Again?/Drambuie Kirkliston Pipe Band