The North Highlands digital album (digital album)

Norman Stewart - The North Highlands (Gaidhealtachd a' Tuath).

This is a lovely digital album of Gaelic and Highland English songs most of which are not commonly heard today. The lyrics and sheet music are available in the book 'The Folksongs from the Highlands' which contains these songs and many more.

These songs are sung by the noted folk song revival singer Norman Stewart with guitar, fiddle and harp accompaniment.


Gaelic song, Scots song
ca. 45 mins, 0 secs
Norman Stewart
Scottish Highlands
Christine Martin, Norman Stewart

Table of contents

  • The Pride of Coll - Iain MacDonald
  • Fear a' Bhata - trad, arr. Norman Stewart
  • Coshieville - Stuart MacGregor
  • John of Lorne -Neil Munro, arr. Sinclair/Stewart
  • As I Went to Inverness-shire' - trad, collected Norman Stewart
  • Kenneth J. MacLeod - Donald MacLeod / Lyndhurst - Jack Smith / The Conundrum - Peter R. MacLeod. (Guitar Duncan MacGillivray)
  • The Men of Knoydart - Hamish Henderson
  • 'S Fhada Leam an Oidhche Gheamhraidh - Murdo MacFarlane, Melbost. (Clarsach Christine Martin)
  • MaCallum's Lament - collected Duncan MacLennan
  • My Donald - Owen Hand arr. Norman Stewart
  • A Ribhinn Og Bheil Cuimhn' Agad? - trad
  • The North Highlands - trad, tune Norman Stewart (Fiddle Christine Martin)


“Traditional and contemporary Scots and Gaelic songs delivered in impressive style by an experienced, committed and resourceful singer who also accompanies himself with some lovely, fluent guitar patterns.”

The Scotsman


You may also like