• image
  • audio

Traditional Fiddle Music of the Scottish Borders (album)

This outstanding collection of traditional fiddle music from the Scottish Borders was recorded from the playing of Tom Hughes of Jedburgh between 1978 and 1980. The CD was compiled and edited by Peter Shepheard. This CD is the same CD as the accompanying one that goes with the book.

Although Tom’s style includes many characteristic Scottish elements, it is quite different from any mainstream fiddle style or the dominant fiddle style of Scotland’s North East. Through Tom’s playing we are able to gain an insight into an old, traditional, fiddle style stretching back through Tom’s family well into the 1800s.

A companion book with sixty newly transcribed tunes from Tom Hughes' Border Fiddle repertoire is available on this website under Fiddle - individual composers.


Fiddle, Guitar, Whistle
Tune Types:
Air, Dance tunes, Hornpipe, Jig, March, Polka, Reel, Strathspey, Waltz
ca. 1 hour, 0 mins
Sid Cairns, Jack Carruthers, Tom Hughes, Brian Miller, Tom Scott
Scottish Borders

Table of contents

  • 1: Redesdale Hornpipe/ Galloway Hornpipe
  • (Four fiddles, Tin whistle Jack, Guitar Brian)
  • 2: Braes O Mar
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie)
  • 3: Tam’s Old Love Song/ Banks of Kale Water
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie)
  • 4: Tam’s Victoria Waltz (Solo)
  • 5: Marquis Of Lorne’s Hornpipe (Solo)
  • 6: Cowie’s Hornpipe/ St Patrick’s Day or Tell Her I Am/ Turkey In The Straw (Solo)
  • 7: Lady Mary Ramsay/ Orange and Blue (Solo)
  • 8: Henry Hughes’ Favourite
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie)
  • 9: The Frost Is All Over/ Jackson’s Morning Brush/ Irish Washerwoman (Solo)
  • 10: Sidlaw Hills/ The Wife She Brewed It (Solo)
  • 11: Sidlaw Hills/ The Wife She Brewed It
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie, Guitar Sid)
  • 12: The Huntsman’s Chorus (Solo)
  • 13: The High Road To Linton (Solo)
  • 14: Barren Rocks Of Aden/ Nut Brown Maiden (Solo)
  • 15: Champagne Charlie (Solo)
  • 16: Auld Robin Grey (Two fiddles Tom and Wattie)
  • 17: Faudenside Polka (Solo)
  • 18: The Rock and a Wee Puckle Tow/ Teviot Brig/ The Stool Of Repentance
  • (Four fiddles with Guitar Brian)
  • 19: Cock Yer Leg Up (Solo)
  • 20: Flouers O Edinburgh/ East Neuk O Fife
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie, Guitar Sid)
  • 21: Lady Mary Ramsay/ Orange and Blue
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie, Guitar Sid)
  • 22: Lilliesleaf Polka (Solo)
  • 23: Farewell To Whisky/ Roxburgh Castle
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie, Guitar Sid)
  • 24: Millicent’s Favourite/ Tam’s Untitled Hornpipe (Solo)
  • 25: Greencastle Hornpipe/ Off To California/ The Dundee Hornpipe (Solo)
  • 26: Boys Of Blue Hill/ The Harvest’s Long In Coming (Solo)
  • 27: Morpeth Rant (Solo)
  • 28: Morpeth Rant
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie, Guitar Sid)
  • 29: Kelso Hiring Fair (Solo)
  • 30: Lady Mary Ramsay/ Soldier’s Joy (Solo)
  • 31: The Triumph (Solo)
  • 32: The Old Rustic Bridge
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie)
  • 33: Auld Graden Kirn (Solo)
  • 34: Liberton Pipe Band
  • (Two fiddles Tom & Wattie)
  • 35: Redeside Hornpipe
  • (Four fiddles with Brian Guitar)


This Cd is a joy to listen to

Kenny Wilson for Box and Fiddle

I must tell you that I am supremely happy with the wonderful music in these albums and the fine production of the books and recordings - it is sucha pleasure to hear this authentic and enlivening music with its special Scottish flavour.

Richard Bohn , California